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The Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy (MSBMT) is the State regulatory agency for the 
profession of Massage Therapy.  The Mississippi State Law Examination has been developed to 
evaluate knowledge of the Mississippi Professional Massage Therapy Act and attributes expected 
outcomes of those students or other professionals meeting requirements of the State of Mississippi. 
 
The Mississippi State Law Examination (MSLE) scores will be emailed to you within 48 hours from 
your test date.  Do not call the Board office to ask about your test scores.  This information will not 
be released over the phone. 
 
How to Apply for Exam: 
 
1.  As a student, you must apply for the exam through the school you presently attend.  The school 
must submit an ‘Authority to Sit’ form after determining that you have met all curriculum 
requirements.  The Mississippi State Law Examination may be taken at any time so designated by 
your Mississippi licensed massage therapy school. 
 
2.  If you have graduated from a Mississippi approved school of massage therapy, you may apply on 
your own.  You may download the EX.01 form ”Application for Mississippi State Law 
Examination” and submit with fees paid by money order or cashiers check.   
 
3.  If you are applying for Mississippi licensure through Rule 405 Reciprocity, you must provide the 
following along with your EX.01 Application for Mississippi State Law Examination. 
 An official out-of-state school transcript; and 
 Demonstrated proof of a least 3 years work experience as a massage therapists; and 
 Proof of passing scores from state, nationally or internationally accredited Examination 

approved by the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy 
 
Background Check: 
 
To assist the Board in conducting its licensure investigation, all applicants shall undergo the following: 
 A fingerprint-based criminal history records check of the Mississippi central criminal database; 

and 
 The Federal Bureau of Investigation criminal history database. 

 
Each applicant will be required to provide a full set of fingerprints in a form and manner prescribed by 
the board, which shall be forwarded to the Mississippi Department of Public Safety (department) and 
the Federal Bureau of Investigation Identification Division for this purpose. 
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Special Accommodations: 
 
If you need special accommodations as allowed by the American Disabilities Act, you must submit 
official documentation regarding your disability at the time your application is submitted.  Download 
this form from www.msbmt.state.ms.us.  Because it may take some time to make special arrangements, 
we recommend that candidates make their requests as soon as possible. We will make every effort to 
assist, except when it may alter the examination or results, or if it causes an undue burden on the 
testing center. 
 
Cost:   
 

1. The fee for the Mississippi State Law Examination is $100.00.   
2. $36.00 Criminal History Background Check 
3.  There is NO REFUND for any reason once the application has been accepted.  

  
The Day of Exam 
 
Candidates must arrive at least thirty minutes before scheduled test time.  Failure to arrive at least 30 
minutes prior to the exam with necessary ID will result in a forfeit of your reservation and examination 
fee.  There is no exception to this rule.  You will not be allowed to take the exam at a later date 
without reapplying and paying the application fee.   
 
Candidates must have at least two forms of identification with signature and at least one must be either 
of the following picture ID:  Valid Drivers License, Valid Passport, Valid Military ID Card, Valid 
State ID Card.  
 
Candidates who give or receive assistance during test time will automatically fail and may be 
prevented from applying with the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy for any further test or 
certification. 
 
Rescheduling Exam 
 
To reschedule exam you must provide WRITTEN NOTIFICATION to the State Board of Massage 
Therapy at 601-732-6038 or email director@msbmt.state.ms.us or via test to 601-906-6834  at least 
seventy-two (72) hours prior to the scheduled exam date to reschedule.  You may only reschedule to a 
date within 90 days of the date your application was accepted. 
  
FAILING TO APPEAR FOR A SCHEDULED EXAM 
 
If on the day you are scheduled to take the exam you do not appear, and you have not rescheduled or 
canceled your exam, you will lose the full exam fee and must reapply. 
  
Acceptable reasons for failure to appear for an exam without prior cancellation or rescheduling: 
  
• Serious illness—either you or an immediate family member 
• Death in the immediate family 
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• Disabling traffic accident 
• Court appearance or jury duty 
• Unexpected military duty call-up 
• Natural disaster (hurricane, earthquake, etc.) 
 
If your reason is accepted, you will be allowed to reschedule your exam free of an additional charge-
one time. You will need to state your reason in writing within four (4) business days of the scheduled 
exam date to the Board Office. 
  
Taking the Exam 
 
You will have ninety (90) minutes to complete the exam. The Mississippi State Law Examination has 
100 multiple choice and/or True/False questions.  A 70 is required for a passing score. 
 
Your study material can be found on the MSBMT website at www.msbmt.state.ms.us.  Please refer to 
the most recent MSBMT Rules and Regulations.  The breakdown of the test questions are, as follows: 

1. Chapter 1 General Provisions     8 questions  8% 
2. Chapter 2 Fees      8 questions  8% 
3. Chapter 3 Organization     8 questions  8% 
4. Chapter 4 Licensure Requirements    12 questions  12% 
5. Chapter 5 Application Procedure    4 questions  4% 
6. Chapter 6 Licensing Renewal     18 questions  18% 
7. Chapter 7 Professional Responsibilities   18 questions  18% 
8. Chapter 8 Complaints, Disciplinary Hearings, etc.  8 questions  8% 
9. Chapter 9 Schools and Instructor Qualifications  4 questions  4% 
10. Chapter 10 CEU Requirements, Provider and Programs 4 questions  4% 
11. Chapter 11 Massage Establishments    8 questions  8% 

 
Relax and read all questions and the answers carefully before you answer.  Some answers may be 
partially correct.  There are no trick questions but you must read carefully and mark the BEST answer.  
Answer all questions if possible as questions left blank are counted as incorrect. 
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