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CONTINUING EDUCATION FREQUENTLY ASKED 

QUESTIONS 
 
 

Can Mississippi CEU Providers who are also CPR / First Aid Instructors advertise 

on the MSBMT website. 

Since CPR and First Aid do not fit the definition of a program presented for Mississippi 

CEU credit, then the Mississippi Approved Provider cannot advertise on the CEU 

Approved Program Listing on the MSBMT website.   If an approved provider wants to 

separately teach as a non-continuing education provider, then they can do so without any 

interaction with the Board.   

Note:  Refer to the location of CPR / First Aid course availability under the Licensure tab 

of our website which provides accessibility to all approved CPR / First Aid providers and 

program information.  4/23/2013 

 

Are online classes approved in Mississippi? 

Not to satisfy requirements of licensure as all 600 hours must be in class hours.  A 

maximum of 12 hours per calendar year (24 for a 2-year renewal) may be taken through 

approved distance (home-study/online course) or classroom (classroom and interactive).  

Check under ‘Continuing Education’ to see if the Provider and Program are approved. 

 

 

Does the Mississippi Board accept CEU’s from any provider approved by the 

NCBTMB? 

Yes, if and only if the NCBTMB provider has registered their providership and each 

program with the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy.  A list of approved 

providers and programs are under the ‘Continuing Education’ tab on this web-site. 

 

 

How many home study hours can I take each year for CEU credit? 

All required continuing education hours may be taken either through distance or 

classroom formats.  These courses must also be approved by the Board.  See ‘Continuing 

Education’ for a list of approved providers and programs. 

 

 

Does CPR or First Aid count as CEU hours? 

CPR and First Aid certifications are required with the initial application and when 

renewing effective May 31, 2009.  CPR/First Aid will count 3 hours toward the total 24 

hour renewal requirement. 

 

 

Are licensed massage therapists required to take CEU’s their first year after 

graduation? 
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Refer to ‘Continuing Education’ tab on this web site for explanation and clarification of 

CEU requirements: CEU clarification of Rule 1001 B. 

 

 

Can students take Continuing Education courses?  Can they be banked for use at 

the time of their first renewal as long as it is within a 4-year period? 

No.  Continuing education courses are just that.  A continuation of their education; 

therefore, can only use for credit after graduation and licensure. 

 

 

Can an LMT apply for CEU credit for courses which are not yet been approved by 

the MS State Board? 

Yes, under provisions of Section 1002 D of the Rules and Regulations; however, they 

must be submitted  on the CEU Program Forms 45 days BEFORE the date of the 

program.  The application must provide detailed curriculum objectives and presenter 

qualifications AND shall be relevant to and focus on massage theory, practice, methods, 

or laws, regulations and ethical principles pertaining to the practice of massage therapy 

with stated learning objectives. 

 

Can continuing education hours taken expire if not needed in the current renewal 

period? 

No.  Any continuing education hours taken and not used in the current renewal period 

will carry forward until you choose to use them toward a future renewal. 

 


