Mississippl STATE BOARD OF M ASSAGE THERAPY
" PROCLAMATION

WHEREAS, by Proclamation dated March 14", 2020, issued by Tate Reeves,
Governor of the State of Mississippi, a state of emergency was declared pursuant
to Miss. Code Ann. Section §33-15-11, in order to address the high risk for an
outbreak of the novel coronavirus, identified as COVID-19, in the State of
Mississippi; and

WHEREAS, the CDC identifies the potential public health threat posed by
COVID-19 both globally and in the United States as “very high”, and has advised
that person-to-person spread of COVID-19 will continue to occur globally,
including within the United States; and

WHEREAS, the Proclamation has invoked the emergency powers of the
Governor pursuant to Miss. Code Ann. Section §33-15-11(c)(1) to temporarily
suspend or modify any rule or regulation of a state agency which would in any
way prevent, hinder or delay necessary action in coping with the emergency; and

WHEREAS, the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy, as an agency of
the State of Mississippi wishes to comply with the Governor’s proclamation and
take those steps necessary to address care to the citizens of the State of
Mississippi during this time of emergency; and

NOW THEREFORE, until action is taken by the Governor of the State of
Mississippi to lift the declared emergency, the Mississippi State of Massage
Therapy has made the following modification to the Rules in a Board meeting on
Thursday, March 19, 2020, governing the renewal of licenses:

1. Licenses that are due to expire May 31%, 2020 will be extended
through August 27", 2020 with no late fee after May 31%t, The
standard renewal fee of $200 will apply. New licenses will be
issued within 14 days of renewal.

2. Licenses that are not renewed by August 27, 2020 will be moved
to expired status and will require a paper renewal reapplication
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with the required $200 license fee and $250 reapplication fee for
a total of $450.

3. When licensees complete their required continuing education
hours and their CPR/First Aid certification (classroom or blended
program only are accepted), they may renew online anytime
between April 1%t and August 27", 2020; and

FURTHER, the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy will allow the
completion of online classes for Mississippi licensed massage therapy programs as
indicated below. All online courses must track student’s participation and time
spent on each section and support his or her time with valid documentation.
Licensed educational institutions must submit a copy of the online program
outlines after development and prior to implementation.

20 hours Anatomy-including all body systems

20 hours Physiology

20 hours Neurology

20 hours Pathology-including Medical Terminology

20 hours Myology or Kinesiology

10 hours Legalities-including Mississippi Massage Law and Ethics

20 hours History, Benefits, Indications and Contraindications

20 hours Referral Methods Within the Healthcare System
Additional theory classes may be approved on a case by case basis; and

FURTHER, except as specifically stated herein, all other regulations remain
in full force and effect.

SO ORDERD AND APPROVED by the Mississippi State Board of Massage
Therapy, this the 19" day of March 2020.

MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPY
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Scott Parker, Chairman




