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Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy 
 

APPLICATION FOR PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE 
 

PLEASE READ CAREFULLY: 
Please type or print clearly - illegible or incomplete applications cannot be processed. 

 
1 Full Legal Name: 

 
 
 
First  
Name: 
 
 

Middle  
Name: 

Last  
Name: 

2 Date of  
Birth: 
 

Social  
Security  
Number: 

Email: 

3 Home  Address: 
 
 
City: 
 
 

State: Zip: 
 

4 Mailing Address  
(if different): 
 
City: 
 
 

State: Zip: 
 

5 Home Phone: Cell Phone: Work Phone 
 

6 Which licensing examination  
did you take and pass: 
 

Date Exam 
Passed: 
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A certified check or money order made payable to MSBMT for all applicable fees.  Personal checks are not 
accepted and will be returned. Do not send cash. Fees are non-refundable and are not prorated. 
 

X Amount For 
 $   50.00 Initial Application Fee (For 1st time applicants, in addition to License Fee) OR (if a certificate of licensure has 

not been issued within 24 months due to the applicant’s failure to meet all requirements for licensure). 
 $ 200.00 2 year License Fee (MTC – mobile therapist card included with license certificate) 
 $   25.00 For each additional location certificate 
 $   30.00 Provisional Permit Fee*  Plus above $50 application fee and $200.00 License Fee.  *The 

Provisional Permit is a temporary permit approved by the board when all requirements, other than a board 
approved pre-licensure exam have been met (90 day limit).    Attach proof of payment and application for a 
board-approved pre-licensure  examination. 
If you have already passed a pre-licensure examination such as the NCETMB or the MBLEx or the MSPLE 
(Mississippi examination) you do not qualify for a provisional (temporary) permit.   
Also, a provisional permit will not b issued until the applicant has passed the MSLE (Mississippi State Law 
Examination.   

$ Total amount remitted via certified check or money order number: 
Money Order/Cashier Check number______________________ 

 
In order to consider your application, please submit the following to the address listed above: 
 
 Completed and notarized application      

 High School graduation or      

       GED equivalent 

  Proof of HIV/AIDS awareness training (must be detailed on official transcript) 

Current CPR card for hand-on certification by the American Red Cross, American Heart Association or 
American Safety and Health Institute  
 
Current First Aid card for hand-on certification by the American Red Cross, American Heart 
Association or American Safety and Health Institute  

  
Applicant must submit two (2) 2” X 2” recent PASSPORT size and quality photographs  
(no photocopies)  which must be dated and signed on front. 
 
Fingerprints and Mississippi Criminal History Background Checks previously submitted with EX.01 
Application for ALL Mississippi State Examinations. 
 

 All documentation supporting licensure requirements: 
 

(1) Evidence of the successful completion of a state, nationally, or internationally accredited examination approved 
 by the board, with such evidence to be sent from the testing organization directly to the Board, including: 

 a)  National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCETMB) 
 b)  Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx) 
 c)  Mississippi State Pre-Licensing Examination (MSPLE) 
 

AND  (2) An official and certified transcript sent directly from YOUR School of Massage Therapy to the 
Board for a minimum of 700 hours in a board approved training program that includes 8 hours current CPR 
and 1st Aid training; a course on communicable diseases including HIV/AIDS information and prevention; 
 

AND  (3) If:  
        a)  if it has been more than 24 months since you have graduated from a Mississippi massage school, you will  
            need to provide proof of completion of a 3-hour Mississippi Law / Rules and Regulations CEU course OR take      
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                     and pass the Mississippi Rules and Regulations examination. ( MSBMT Bd Mtg. 6.26.09)   
        b) you are transferring from another state and requesting reciprocity,  you will also need to take and pass the  
        Mississippi Rules & Regulations/Law Exam.  See www.msbmt.state.ms.us  Examination  Application; )   
 
AND (4) Clear a Mississippi Criminal History Check and FBI fingerprint background check previously submitted with the 

EX.01 Application for ALL Mississippi State Examinations.  I understand that if the background check(s) are not 
clear that I am responsible for notifying the court of jurisdiction and have them provide, directly to the Board, 
certified documentation that all requirements of the court order were met. 

 
Education and Training 

(Official Transcript must be sent from Massage School) 
(attach copies of others if available) 

 
7 Name of  

High  
School: 

Date of  
Graduation: 
 

8 Complete  
Address: 
 

9 Name of  
College or  
University: 

10 Complete  
Address: 
 

11 Dates  
attended:  

From: To: Degree  
Awarded: 

12 Major: 
 

Minor: 
 

Date of  
Graduation: 

13 Name of  
Vocational  
School: 

14 Complete  
Address: 

15 Certificate  
Received:                                     YES                  NO 

Dates Attended: 
From: To: 

16 Name of  
Massage  
Therapy  
School: 

17 Complete  
Address: 

18 Certificate/Degree  
received:                                         YES              NO  

Dates Attended:  
From: To: 

19 Include a copy of the following, if applicable: 
Out of State  
License: 

Type  
and #: 

Issue Date: 
 

Expiration Date: 

 

http://www.msbmt.state.ms.us/
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20.  EMPLOYMENT HISTORY (past five (5) years inclusive) - use back of this sheet if needed. 
List current employment first:  
 

Date From Date To Employer’s Name 
& Address 

Description of 
duties 

Reason for leaving 

 
 
 
 

    

 
 
 
 

    

 
21.  Please list all establishments with complete physical address where you will be practicing massage 
therapy.  If you are self-employed, please record your name as your business name and enter home 
physical address.  No license will be issued without Business 1 information.  NOTE: You will need a copy of 
your License for display at each place that you practice as a massage therapist. Each additional certificate is $25.00 and 
must list the additional PHYSICAL name and address where you do business. Certificates are non-transferable. If you 
change locations, you must notify the State Board Office at least 14 days prior and obtain a new certificate for that 
location prior to working at that location.  A Mobile Therapist Card will be provided with your license certificate.  You 
are required to have this card prominently displayed when performing massage therapy services off-site. 
Business 1 Information:  
(this one free with your 
application) 
  
CHECK APPROPRIATE BOX 

○ This is my home address – I do not            
have a work address yet – I will not be 
working out of my home 
○ This is my home address – I will be 
operating a home-based business 

 

Name 
 

Physical  

Address 

City                                                                                                       State   Zip 

Phone 

 

Contact 
 Name 

Establishment  
Email Address 
 
Establishment  
Web Address 
 

Business 2 Information: 
(additional $25.00 fee)  
 
 

Name 
 

Physical  

Address 

City                                                                                                   State       Zip 

Phone 

 

Contact 

 Name 

Contact 
Email  
Address 
Establishment  
Website 
Address 
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# YES NO AFFIDAVIT QUESTIONS  
22   Are you a citizen of the United States?          

If NO, attach copy of passport including work permit. 
23a 

 
  Have you been convicted or found guilty of a crime in any state or jurisdiction, 

regardless of adjudication? or  
23b    Is there any criminal charge now pending against you?  

(Do not include parking or speeding violations for Question 23.) 
24   Have you ever been a defendant in a court-martial? 

25   Have you ever been declared legally incompetent? 

26   Have you ever undergone treatment for the use of drugs, narcotics or 
intoxicating liquors? 

27   Have you ever-received treatment for any emotional disturbances, mental 
disorder or insanity that would impair your ability to perform as a massage 
therapist? 

28   Has a regulatory authority in any state or jurisdiction (including Mississippi) 
denied you a license or other credential to practice massage or to practice any 
other licensed profession? 

29   Has a regulatory authority in any state or jurisdiction (including Mississippi) 
granted you a license or other credential to practice massage or to practice any 
other licensed profession?  (If NO, skip Questions 30 through 35) 

30a 
 

  Have you ever held a professional massage therapy license in Mississippi? 
If yes, what was 
your license #: 

When did your 
license expire? 

30b   I have practiced massage therapy for compensation in Mississippi during the 
term that my license was expired.  If YES, YOU MUST attached a copy of 
appointment book. 

30c   Why did you allow your license to expire? 
 

31   Has a regulatory authority in any state or jurisdiction (including Mississippi) 
disciplined you related to the practice of massage or to the practice of any 
other licensed profession? (Such disciplinary outcome includes, but is not 
limited to, license restrictions or conditions, probation, fine, or reprimand.)  

32   Has a regulatory authority in any state or jurisdiction (including Mississippi) 
suspended, revoked, denied the renewal of, or required you to surrender your 
Massage Therapy License or other credential, or your license to practice any 
other profession?    

33   Have you ever voluntarily surrendered a license or credential in connection 
with or to avoid a disciplinary action by a regulatory authority? 

34   As a massage therapist, are you now or have you ever been a defendant in civil 
litigation in which the basis of complaint was for negligence, malpractice, or 
lack of professional competence?            

35   Is there currently pending against you in any jurisdiction a complaint against 
your professional conduct or competence as a massage therapist?     

If you answered no to Question 22 or yes to any of Questions 23 through 35, please provide additional relevant 
information, dates, jurisdiction (state, county), offense, disposition, circumstances, medical practitioners who treated you 
or who were consulted (names & addresses). It will be necessary to direct each practitioner or Facility who treated you to 
furnish the board with any information the board requests with respect to any such treatment.  Attach to this application. 
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AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICATION 
 

 
I, _________________________________, under oath, do promise and affirm that if this application is 

accepted and I should be granted a license to practice as a Massage Therapist in the State of Mississippi, I will obey 

the laws of this state, the rules and regulations of the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy, and maintain 

the honor and dignity of the profession. 

 

It is understood and agreed that if I should fail to keep the above agreement, or if I have made any false 

statements in this application, that: 

a)  My license may be suspended or revoked by the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy at any time.  

b)  I have read and understand the law, rules and regulations pertaining to massage therapy in the State of 

Mississippi.  

c)  I further understand that it is my responsibility to keep my license current and stay informed of any changes in 

the law, rules and regulations and policy relative to Massage Therapy in this state.   

d)  I further state that I am familiar with the provisions of the ADA, Title 3 that apply to an individual massage 

therapist offering goods and services to the public. 

 

 
I further state that all statements made by me in this application are true and correct. 
 
_____________________________________   ________________________________________________ 
Signature of Applicant      Printed Name      Date 
 
 
Sworn to and subscribed before me this ____________day of ______________________, in the year________________. 
 
 
______________________________________________ 
Notary Public 
 
 
           SEAL 

County of ______________________________________ 

State of _______________________________________ 

My Commission expires__________________________ 
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LICENSE VERIFICATION FORM 

 
Applicant:  Complete Section I of this form if you have ever held a massage therapy license in any state other than Mississippi.  
Forward one copy to each licensing agency in all the states where you have held OR currently hold a massage therapy license.  This 
form should be mailed to the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy by the licensing agency completing the form.  Most states 
require a fee for processing.   The fee is the applicant’s responsibility. 
 
Licensing Board / Agency: The Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy requires information regarding my license.  This is my 
request for you to respond to the questions in Section II and also gives you authority to release any information, favorable or 
otherwise, to the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy. 
 
Section I: (for applicant only) 
Name 
 

Signature 

Address City State Zip 
 

Date of Birth Social Security No. 
 

License Number State of Licensure 
 

Section II: (For Licensing Board/Agency only) 
The Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy requires verification of this person’s credential to practice be provided by all states 
in which the person listed above holds or has held a license, registration or certification.  Please complete and return this form 
DIRECTLY to the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy, PO Box 20, Morton, MS  39117. 
State where credential was issued Agency Name 

 
Full Name of Credential Holder 
 
Credential Number Type of Credential 

o License         
o Registration 
o Certification 

Issue Date Expiration  
Date 

Educational  
Requirements 

Respond to the following questions: (Circle)     If YES is answered to any question 3 – 8, please attach explanation. 
# QUESTION YES NO # QUESTION YES NO 
1 Is the license current   5 Do your files indicate any derogatory information (fines, 

Code of Ethics violations, etc.)? 
  

2 Is the license in good standing   6 Have you received any complaints against this 
professional? 

  

3 Have any charges ever been filed 
against this professional? 

  7 Has this professional been investigated by your Board?   

4 Do you know of any information 
that may discredit this 
professional? 

  8 Are you aware of any information about this professional 
submitted to the National Practitioner Data Bank? 

  

 
Authorized Signature: _________________________________________                        BOARD SEAL 
Date of Signature: _____________________ 

 

 

MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPY 
Post Office Box 20, Morton, MS  39117 

 
               

 
 

http://www.msbmt.state.ms.us/
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PLEASE RETAIN THIS PAGE FOR FUTURE REFERENCE   

DO NOT RETURN THIS PAGE WITH YOUR APPLICAITON 
 
Registration Requirements: 
§ 73-67-21. Practice of massage therapy prohibited unless licensed; licensure requirements; exemptions. 
 
(2) No person may advertise massage or practice massage for compensation in this state unless he is licensed as a 
massage therapist by the board. No person may use the title of or represent himself to be a massage therapist or use any 
other title, abbreviations, letters, figures, signs or devices that indicate that such person is a massage therapist unless he is licensed to 
practice massage therapy under the provisions of this chapter. Massage establishments with six (6) or more licensed massage therapist 
shall be exempt from the advertising provisions found in Section 73-67-29 provided that such therapy or service is performed by 
person(s) licensed under this chapter. 
 
(3) The following are requirements for licensure: 

(a) An applicant must be eighteen (18) years of age, or older, on the date the application is submitted. 
(b) An application must provide proof of high school graduate equivalency. 
(c) An applicant must be of legal status not only to receive a license, but also to work in the State 
of Mississippi with such license. 
(d) An applicant must supply proof of current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and first aid of at 
least eight (8) hours of training, including practical testing, and supply documentation of familiarity with The 
Americans with Disabilities Act. 
(e) All required fees for licensure must be submitted by the applicant. 
(f) Any and all requirements regarding good moral character and competency, as provided for in this chapter and in accepted 

 codes of ethics, shall be met.  To assist the board in conducting its licensure investigation, all applicants shall undergo a 
 fingerprint-based criminal history records check of the Mississippi central criminal database and the Federal Bureau of 
 Investigation criminal history database. Each applicant shall submit a full set of the applicant's fingerprints in a form and 
 manner prescribed by the board, which shall be forwarded to the Mississippi Department of Public Safety (department) and 
 the Federal Bureau of Investigation Identification Division for  this purpose. 

(g) An applicant must have completed an approved continuing education course on communicable diseases, 
including HIV/AIDS information and prevention. 
(h) The applicant's official and certified transcript(s) from the applicant's massage therapy school. Such transcript 
must verify that the applicant has completed a board-approved training program of no less than the minimum 
requirement for supervised in-class massage therapy instruction and student clinic, with a minimum grade 
requirement of "C" or better in every course of instruction, as stated for school requirements; or if the applicant 
is submitting criteria from an apprenticeship program, all required documentation, forms and other board stipulated 
requirements must be met. 

 
Staying Current: 
 
The most up to date information may be found on the website:  www.msbmt.state.ms.us and it is the responsibility of each licensed 
massage therapist to remain current on changes.   
 
www.msbmt.state.ms.us  Important News contains the Rules and Regulations, the Mississippi Law and some of the most recent 
MSMBT releases. 
 
www.msbmt.state.ms.us  Licensure contains applications, renewal forms, and application for retired status  
 
www.msbmt.state.ms.us  Change info. Contains a form to update your home mailing address.  There is no Charge for this and you 
can email this change to director@msbmt.state.ms.us.  You may also use this page for requesting additional locations either online or 
by paper method. 
 
Renewal of your license is required every other May 31st.  If you have everything in order (CEUs, no name change, etc.) you may 
renew online. Otherwise, you must submit a Renewal Application www.msbmt.state.ms.us  Licensure  Renewal Forms for 
Existing Therapists.  This must be postmarked at least 30 days prior to the expiration of your current license along with required 
CEU’s.  See www.msbmt.state.ms.us  Continuing Ed  Programs for a list of approved Programs.  If the expiration date is not 
listed for the particular program, you must ask the Provider if their Program Fees are current prior to taking the class.  Only 5 hours 
per year or 10 hours during a renewal period may be from an approved Home Study / Online (Distance Learning) Program. 

http://www.msbmt.state.ms.us/
http://www.msbmt.state.ms.us/
http://www.msbmt.state.ms.us/
http://www.msbmt.state.ms.us/
http://www.msbmt.state.ms.us/
http://www.msbmt.state.ms.us/
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Student Verification Form 
 

Send this to your school. 
 

Must be mailed from your School of Massage Therapy directly to MSBMT 
 
 

Name of Student: 
(Print) 
 
Student Signature: 
 
 
Student Identification No.: 
 
 

Student Class No.: 
 

Date of Graduation: 
 
 
Social Security No.: 
 
 

Student email address: 

 
Dear School, 
 
The above student request that you return this form as verification of graduation from your program in 
good standing to fulfill requirements for Licensure as a Massage Therapist in the State of Mississippi. 
 
School Name: 
 

State License No.: 
 
 

School Physical Address: 
 
School Mailing Address: 
 
Telephone Number: 
 
Contact Person: Email Address: 

 
 
 
Also enclose an Official and Certified Transcript on school letterhead directly mail to: 
 
MS State Board of Massage Therapy 
Registration Data 
P. O. Box  20 
Morton, MS 39117 
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