
The Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy (MSBMT)  
P.O. Box 20 OR 353 South Fourth Street (for FedEx only)  

Morton, MS 39117  
Tel: 601.732.6038 Fax: 601.732.6447     Email: director@msbmt.state.ms.us  

Application for Mississippi State Law Examination (MSLE)  
 
If this application is for a current student, it must be submitted by an approved school of massage therapy.   
If this application is for a re-take, you must contact your school for them to issue an “Authority to Sit” 
to the examination office.  ALL fees must be remitted in the form of a Cashier’s Check or Money 
Order and received ten (10) working days prior to the scheduled examination date. 
 

Please fill out form, print and mail along with applicable fee.   Retain a copy for your file. 
Legal Last Name: 
 

 

Legal First Name: 
 

 

Legal Middle Name or Initial: 
 

 

Date of Birth:  

Social Security Number:  

Email Address (all correspondence 
regarding validation of your 
examination date will be sent to 
this email address.  No other 
notice will be sent) 

 

Home Mailing Address: 
 

 

City: 
 

State: Zip: 

Home Phone Number: 
 

Cell Phone Number: 

Estimated or actual graduation 
date: 

 

Class Number:  

If this application is for a retake of 
a MS Exam, previous test date(s): 

 

Massage Therapy School attended 
(graduate) or Massage Therapy 
School submitting application 
(student): 

 

School address:  
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City: State: Zip: 

School contact:  

Phone number:  

Contact email address:  

    I will have graduated after January 1, 2011 from a licensed Mississippi massage  
  therapy school - $100 per applicant 
 
  I will have graduated after January 1, 2011 from a licensed Mississippi massage  
  therapy school; however I will not be practicing in Mississippi.  I am claiming an  
  exemption from this requirement.  I understand that should I return to   
  Mississippi to practice, I will be required to sit for and pass the MSLE prior to 
  applying for licensure. 

 
  I am applying for Mississippi licensure through Rule 405 Reciprocity.  I have provided 
  the following: 

 an official out-of-state school transcript; and  
 demonstrated proof of a least 3 years work experience as a massage 

therapist;  
and  

 proof of passing scores from a state, nationally or internationally 
accredited Examination approved by the Mississippi State Board of 
Massage Therapy 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
SELECT 

TEST 
SITE 

 Jackson @ school  (as 
scheduled by the licensed 
schools)   

 Gulf Coast  (as scheduled by 
the licensed schools)   

 Hattiesburg  (as scheduled 
by the licensed schools)    Tupelo (as scheduled by the 

licensed schools)   

 Mississippi State Board of 
Massage Therapy Office 
(see 
scheduled dates on website) 

 Southaven (as scheduled by 
the licensed school 

 

Under Rule 405, which pre-
licensure examination did 
you take and pass? 

     
         MBLEx                                     NCETMB        
                 MSPLE                        Other: Specify 
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FEES ENCLOSED: 
 $100.00 Mississippi State Law Examination made payable to the MS 

State Board of Massage Therapy 
 $36.00 Criminal History Records Check Fee – made payable to the 

MS State Board of Massage Therapy / CIC Ck 
$136.00 TOTAL MONEY ORDER MADE PAYABLE TO THE MS STATE BOARD OF 

MASSAGE THERAPY 
To assist the Board in conducting its licensure investigation, all applicants shall undergo the following: 
 

  -  a fingerprint-based criminal history records check of the Mississippi central criminal database; and 
  -  the Federal Bureau of Investigation criminal history database.  

 
 At the testing site each applicant will be required to bring with them two (2) forms of identification – one 
(1) must be a photo ID.  Each applicant will be required to provide a full set of fingerprints in a form and manner 
prescribed by the board, which shall be forwarded to the Mississippi Department of Public Safety (department) 
and the Federal Bureau of Investigation Identification Division for this purpose.   

 
§73-67-21(7) Mississippi Code of 1972 (Ann.), (Rev. 7/1/2013) 
An applicant must have successfully been cleared for licensure through an investigation that shall consist of a 
determination as to good moral character and verification that the prospective licensee is not guilty of or in 
violation of any statutory ground for denial of licensure as set forth in Section 76-67-27. 
(a) To assist the board in conducting its licensure investigation, all applicants shall undergo a fingerprint-based 
criminal history records check of the Mississippi central criminal database and the Federal Bureau of 
Investigation criminal history database.  Each applicant shall submit a full set of the applicant’s fingerprints in a 
form and manner prescribed by the board, which shall be forwarded to the Mississippi Department of 
Investigation Identification Division for this purpose. 
(b) Any and all state or national criminal history records information obtained by the board that is not already a 
matter of public record shall be deemed nonpublic and confidential information restricted to the exclusive use of 
the board, its members, officers, investigators, agents and attorneys in evaluating the applicant’s eligibility or 
disqualification for licensure, and shall be exempt from the Mississippi Public Records Act of 1983.  Except 
when introduced into evidence in a hearing before the board to determine licensure, no such information or 
records related thereto shall, except with the written consent of the applicant or by order of a court of competent 
jurisdiction, be released or otherwise disclosed by the board to any other person or agency. 
(c)  The board shall provide to the department the fingerprints of the applicant, any additional information that 
may be required by the department, and a form signed by the applicant consenting to the check of the criminal 
records and to the use of the fingerprints and other identifying information required by the state or national 
repositories. 
(d) The board shall charge and collect from the applicant, in additional to all other applicable fees and costs, 
such amount as may be incurred by the board in requesting and obtaining state and national criminal history 
records information on the applicant.  
 
I understand that I am prohibited from transmitting information regarding examination 
questions or content in any form to any person or entity, and understand that failure to comply 
with this prohibition may result in my being 1) unable to license with the board, 2) have my 
license revoked, 3) and/or legal action taken against me.  
 
 
______________________________________________________ ______________________  
Signature of Applicant       Date  
 
 
Note- This application does not replace the Application for Licensure required by MSBMT. Once you 
receive notification of a passing exam score, you must submit an application for licensure to MSBMT 
along with the application fee and licensure fee AND receive your license prior to working as a 
massage therapist in Mississippi. 
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